The Bee Grant Program

The Traditional Bee Grant: The traditional Bee Grant is back for 2022 brought to you by the Whole Kids Foundation!  It will be open for submission on September 1, 2021. Our most successful applicants tend to begin the pollinator curriculum before welcoming live bees, so we created the digital Back to School Bee Program to keep the momentum going!  A completed grant application must be submitted by October 15, 2021.

The Renewal Bee Grant: If you have received a Whole Kids Foundation + The Bee Cause Bee Grant in the past, you are eligible for the 2022 Renewal Grant which is open for submission on September 1, 2021 through October 15, 2021.

Back to School Bee Program: We want all educators interested in pollinator curriculum to have the resources they need, when they need it. Whether you have live bees on your campus already, or are a beginner in the bee world, we want to meet you where you are.

All of our Back to School Bee Program resources are distance learning friendly, include teacher companion guides, and are mapped to the standards – even the reading list. Scroll down to get started with the Back to School Bee Program!

Upcoming Webinars

Do you need help completing your application?  Please register for one of our webinars for tips on successfully completing the Bee Grant application.  All upcoming webinar dates will be listed on the Bee Cause Facebook event page. If you would like to review upcoming events, click here.

Fall Grant Application Webinars

Instructional Webinar

September 15th, 2021 @ 10AM PST/12PM CST/1PM EST
September 15th Zoom registration

Q & A Session

October 4th, 2021 @ 3PM PST/5PM CST/6PM EST
October 4th Zoom registration

Not able to make the date? All of our webinars are recorded and posted on the @thebeecauseproject YouTube Channel. You’ll find all of the webinar recordings on our “Bees in the Classroom” playlist.

Back to School with The Bee Cause Project!

Step One: Educate

Every Bee Program, like a honey bee hive, needs a strong foundation. We recommend first referencing the “How to Grow Your Bee Program” guide. Then begin to implement the Six Week Bee Unit. This curriculum has core compliant lessons, teacher guides, flash cards, and literature circle prompts.

Step Two: Build a Bee Club

No bee operates alone! A Bee Club provides structure to build support among your community, and to create an environment for those who want to learn more about bees! Bee Clubs are a great space for hosting bee book discussions, developing habitat on campus, and learning how to keep bees.

Step Three: Connect with Community!

Connect with your community members such as 4-H agents, local beekeeper association members, and farmers for in-person visits and (digital) field trips. These opportunities are an easy way to weave your larger parent and educator communities in to better understand the program, and our friends, the bees.

Step Four: Expand Your Habitat

Every hive needs a healthy habitat! Now is the time to understand and apply what you’ve learned about helping the bees succeed! This may look like welcoming live bees, or building native pollinator habitat. The “Bee” a Friend to Pollinators lesson plan will help you understand how pollinators share your surrounding habitat.

DONATE